August 2016 Favorites.

2016, Beauty, favorites, makeup, Uncategorized

August has been crazy! Between buying a house(!) to renovating a house (!!), I’ve been all over the place.

This month has been mostly casual in terms of clothing and makeup. It’s been raining quite a bit over here in Dallas so I’ve been mustering some extra effort to keep my face dry and humidity free.


GlamGlow Thirsty Mud mask-

Oh the humidity! Dallas weather has been crazy for the past few weeks. We’ve had 100 deg days turn into 75 degree days all within hours and random showers sprinkled between the sun and clouds. The change in weather and the change in my personal situation has been making my skin dry.

My new favorite item for skin care this month is the GlamGlow Thirsty Mud mask. I’ve been using it in place of my regular night time treatment. The formula is very hydrating and it doesn’t leave me feeling greasy. It feels like I’ve left a nice puddle of water on my skin and in the morning my skin has absorbed all of the moisturizer and feels amazing.


Origins GinZing Scrub & Origins Checks and Balances Face wash-

I’ve been guilty of leaving my skin in terrible condition this summer. While we’ve been renovating/updating our house, I’ve been neglecting my skin on a routine basis.

Late in August, as I was packing, I found the Origins GinZing Energy boosting  Scrub and the Origins Checks and Balances Frothy face wash.

After spending my weeknights and weekends painting, scrubbing, sanding and remodeling my face needed a little extra TLC. I love the citrusy scent of the GinZing scrub while the Frothy face wash left my face cleansed from the paint and dirt. On nights where I couldn’t use my Clarisonic or my normal cleaning routine (hey, remodeling is a tough and tiring job!), I’d run to these for a quick 5 min cleanse before heading to bed.


Josie Maran Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 47-

I’ve never been a great with putting on screen. It’s just not my forte. This summer I’ve spent a great deal of time outdoors. The Texas sun feels so strong during the summer and I’ve been scared that the rays are harming my skin instead of providing any benefits. That’s why I’ve been getting better about putting on sunscreen and having a light formula like the Josie Maran one really helps. The sunscreen comes in a signature dark bottle with a pump that dispenses a white moisturizer and sunscreen combo. I love argan oil and what it does to my face so much that this actually had become a part of my morning routine.

Most sunscreens break me out but this one hasn’t as of yet. 


Urban Decay One and Done Foundation-

I’ve been scarce with foundation since it’s been humid and over 90 degrees here in Dallas. My go-to foundation during this time of year is the Urban Decay One and Done since it released this summer. It’s a great blend between a BB cream and a foundation. It provides the best coverage while being light on my skin.


Urban Decay Naked Concealer-

I’m trying really hard to finish my stock of concealers before we move. It is just too hard to do especially when I keep reaching for my Urban Decay Naked concealer every single time!

Leave a Reply

