Happy Eid! 

al fitr, cake, charity, eid, food, katy, KIA, MAS, masjid, muslim, pakistani, purple, ramadan, shalwar kameez, the seamsters

Eid Mubarak! 

Eid-al-Fitr is the celebration of the end of Ramadan. It is also called the After 29 days of long, hot and tiring fasts, we’ve finally come to the end. We’ve dealt with headaches, hunger a

nd lack of sleep. We’ve explained to our coworkers, friends and neighbors why we can’t go share a meal with them. 

And hopefully we’ve spent a considerable amount of time worshiping God. 

  

I bought some cookies and cake into work before Eid so I could celebrate with my coworkers. I wrote a little fact sheet about Islam and why Muslims fast for Ramadan and what Eid-al-Fitr is about. The cookies were gone instantly and the cake was a bit dry so it didn’t get much love. 

Hubs and I drove out to Houston to attend Eid prayer with my parents. It’s always so nice to spend time with family members and to be close enough to celebrate with them. Hopefully one day, we’ll be able to spend Eid with my in-laws when they come to visit from India. 

View from the Women’s floor

We prayed Eid namaz at the new masjid in Katy. It’s so gorgeous! It’s taken nearly 8 years to build because of the constant issues with the neighbors (look up the Katy Islamic Center on Baker st). Even with all the issues, the masjid houses many local Muslims. It felt so peaceful to pray in the masjid. If we end up moving back to Houston, I’d love to be near this masjid.

11401067_940501195973049_5044351565498956852_n

Original style of my suit. I changed a lot of it to suit my needs.

I wore a purple floor length Pakistani shalwar suit. I love the color purple and getting this suit custom made from The Seamsters. It’s a brand new company created by one of my dearest friends. They customize dresses and can even make replications of designer dresses. I’ve ordered 10 lawn suits for Ramadan, 2 embroidered suits, and 2 formal suits including this one that I wore for Eid. The prices are extremely reasonable as they don’t mark up high for their own profit. I definitely plan on ordering more.

As usual Eid was filled with lots and lots food. My cousin’s bought over this chocolate chip cake from a local bakery. It was so big that even though we had 50 people over throughout the weekend, we couldn’t finish it.

Well now that Ramadan and Eid are over, it’s time to start cutting back on the sugar and carbs.

How was your Eid? What did you do?

Leave a Reply

